top of page
Writer's pictureCalvin Klatt

Recent Observations: Galaxy NGC-7640


Image 1: Galaxy NGC-7640 Imaged at Lac Teeples on September 16, 2023


Just after midnight on September 16 I realized that the object I was tracking had landed in the trees. I was ready for bed and simply looked for any reasonable target that might be visible for a few hours while I slept. Ladies and Gentlemen: Let me introduce you to galaxy NGC-7640.


This galaxy is very high in the sky (declination +40) through the night right now at Lac Teeples (45 North). It is a small barred spiral galaxy, 10 arcminutes by 2 arcminutes seen roughly edge-on. It is found in the Andromeda constellation, and is located roughly 30 million light years away.


Image captured at Lac Teeples on September 16, 2023. It is comprised of 102 minutes of data. The telescope used was the RASA11, the camera the ZWO ASI-6200MC Colour. No filter was used.


11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page